Women are the real fixers

Had this post going through my head this morning but was too busy to put it down. I just hope I’m still able to, as articulately as it came.
11828569_10153225383934340_2395479695655924328_n
Father and son share a moment in matching costumes

So Mary came knocking on my room just before 6 this morning. I responded and she said, ‘ mummy, the gas won’t come on’. I followed her to the kitchen, used the lighter repeatedly but truly, there was no flame from the burners. In effect, we had ran out of cooking gas on a school morning! And I didn’t have a back up.

I asked Mary to go about her other duties and came back to my room. I tapped the sleeping husband: we’ve ran out of gas. ‘The gas factory won’t open until later’, he said, and he went back to sleep. To me, it was a ‘fix it mummy’ call. I didn’t have time to be livid besides I knew he was only rational in his response. He gave me the provider-response not the daddy-reaction I expected. I had to fix my challenge.

NEPA was on strike (as usual), we were on inverter. I need hot water to bathe the kids. I turned on the hot water tap, it had lukewarm water that filled up to three-quarter of a bucket. I bathed the infant managing to leave some for the toddler. Mary diluted the remaining with cold water and bathed Ebuka. He shouted a bit at the first splash, but enjoyed the rest. Bath fixed. Now to food.

Ebuka would usually take two meals – a cereal and anything else, a fruit, snack, fizzy drink and water to school. Today would have been custard (and egg) and fried plantain ( he can eat a whole finger), but there is no cooking gas. So we pack him some Cerelac and milk, and butter two slices of bread ( he loves peanut butter). Ordinarily, I would microwave his bread slightly but today, no NEPA. Toss in the remaining components of his lunch box and voila, we’re set for school!

Olanna is rescued by the hot water in her flask. Sharp sharp, we make formular for madam and tea for oga and everyone is happy! Sigh. In between, I found time for my cold bath and dressed up for an Island meeting. By the time we (Ebuka and I) were heading for the door, dad simply waved us goodbye without as much as a question on how we turned things around. At least he volunteered to refill the cylinder for us. #ThisMummyLife

Share with me what sudden mummy emergencies you have had. Remember to use the hashtag. Let’s make this fun, mums. #ThisMummyLife

____________________________________________________________________________________________
Postscript:
I visited matildaschild’s blog yesterday and read a post (here, http://www.matildaschild.com/?p=1891 ) about spoiling one’s self every once in a while. We def share the same ‘saving money as much as possible for the home’ sentiments by spending less on personal hair and body effects. For instance, I haven’t bought me a body cream in the last three years or more. I simply use the kids’ Shea butter and oils. But the way she captured her first spa experience makes me itch for the ‘luxury’. Yes it’s luxury biko. One I promised myself in my wedding build up but which I failed to have – the spa treatment, that is. So maybe I should head to dealdey or Jumia to find the cheapest spa deals. I just hope I feel as exhilarated as Mathilda did. Meanwhile, if you offer spa services and want to bless me with one treatment, biko feel free to #PamperAMum

7 thoughts on “Women are the real fixers

Leave a comment